Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

As I mentioned in my last post, I’m starting a new series called, “Break Me Off a Piece of THAT”. I’ll be mentioning some of the favorite foods and restaurants that we encountered on our trip.

Today’s find is something that we stumbled on out of the blue. I don’t know if this dish is really “local”, or if it was created to fit the tastes of Americans, Western Europeans, and Aussies & Kiwis.

Whatever the deal is, it was so good that I ate these every night in Chiang Mai.

The Pad Thai Omelette is pretty much exactly what it sounds like: Pad Thai in an Omelette.

Do you like Pad Thai? Do you like omelettes? You’ve come to the right place then, my friend.

While in Chiang Mai, my husband, Scott, and I stumbled upon a little restaurant along Nimmanhaemin Road called G-long Burgers. It wasn’t some place that should’ve cried out to vegetarians. But, considering the best vegetarian fast food chain around SoCal is El Pollo Loco, we decided to take a look.

(Plus, they had lots of ice cream available. I’m a sucker for ice cream options.)

Lo and behold, I look at the menu and see that they have this mystical creation called the “Pad Thai Omelette”. Both Scott and I both did a simultaneous “air gasp”, as we saw it at the same time, which made our waitress jump a little.

One of my many quirks is I love things that are exactly what they sound like: “I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter”, “Old Spaghetti Factory”, “Snakes on a Plane”, Barstow, etc.

So, I was inherently predisposed to like Pad Thai Omelette, because that’s what it is: Pad Thai in an Omelette.

But, that taste, the buttery taste straight out of the Paula Dean School of Cooking… well, let me just say if Pick Up Stix starts selling these, I’m in trouble.

And, at the US Dollar equivalent of $2.50, we were able to enjoy these for several meals… occasionally more than one a day.

Definitely make the most of your vacation in Thailand and dig in.

Cheers,
E

